The President of the Republic of Brazil, Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva, embarked on a trip to New Delhi (India) to participate in the 18th Summit of Heads of State and Government of the G20, scheduled for Saturday, September 9 and Sunday, September 10.

During this event, Brazil will assume the presidency of the G20, a historic milestone that brings together 19 of the world’s leading economies, along with the European Union.

Lula’s agenda includes participation in bilateral meetings with leaders of other nations attending the summit, as well as with representatives of various international organizations.

The occasion marks a momentous moment for Brazil, which will be tasked with presiding over the G20 from India during the next term, which will run from December 1 of this year to November 30, 2024.

This presidency cycle involves the organization of more than 100 official meetings, covering around twenty ministerial meetings, 50 high-level meetings and parallel events, such as seminars. The highlight will be the next G20 Summit, scheduled for November 18-19, 2024 in Rio de Janeiro.

Expansion of the G20: The arrival of the G21 with the African Union

President Lula, in a previous statement, highlighted the importance of these events and their impact on Brazil’s international visibility. He stressed that these three mega events – the G20 presidency in 2024, the BRICS presidency in 2025 and the celebration of COP30 in Belém in 2025 – will position Brazil as a key player in global issues and emphasized the country’s commitment to issues such as equity, respect for human rights and climate action.

The G20 Summit agenda will focus on three main thematic areas: “One Planet” (sustainable development, climate change, among others), “One Family” (inclusive growth, education, health, among others), and “One Future”. ” (technology, digital infrastructure, employment and work of the future).

Additionally, during the summit, the G20 presidency handover ceremony will take place, in which President Lula will present the issues and expectations for Brazil’s mandate in 2024.

The G20 is made up of 19 nations, including South Africa, Germany, Saudi Arabia, Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, South Korea, the United States, France, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Mexico, the United Kingdom, Russia, Turkey and the European Union.

In addition, nine invited countries and several international organizations will also participate in the summit, making it a critical forum for global cooperation and high-level economic and political decision-making.


Leave a Reply