Japan on Friday condemned Russia’s decision to abandon the Comprehensive Nuclear Test Ban Treaty, and highlighted the need to halt the proliferation of atomic weapons in the current scenario of escalating global tensions.

In a statement, Japanese Foreign Minister Yoko Kamikawa recalled that Russia ratified this treaty in 2000 and since then “has demonstrated its commitment to the rules”, while “there has been a sustained increase in the number of countries that have signed and ratified the agreement.”

“[Isto mostra] the great importance of the movement for disarmament and non-proliferation”, says the minister, adding that this commitment is “more necessary than ever in the current serious international situation”.

Yoko Kamikawa added that taking into account that Russia “is the state with the largest number of nuclear weapons” among the signatories of the treaty (CTBT), the decision to withdraw “goes against the long-standing efforts of the community International”.


Japan, the the only country to have suffered nuclear bombings — those perpetrated by the USA in Hiroshima and Nagasaki at the end of the Second World War — “condemns Russia’s decision and urges it to continue to respect international regulations prohibiting nuclear tests”, reads the statement.

Tokyo also expresses its willingness to “continue working with the international community to achieve a world free of nuclear weapons, through realistic and practical efforts, including a rapid entry into force and universalization of the treaty”.

South Korea has also expressed its “deep disappointment” with Russia’s decision to abandon the treaty and urged Moscow to “reconsider”.

This treaty was adopted by the UN General Assembly on September 10, 1996 and was signed by 185 countries, but nine countries never ratified it, including the United States, China, Iran and Israel, while India, Pakistan, North Korea and Syria have not even signed it.

Russia signed it on September 24, 1996 and ratified it on June 30, 2000.

The treaty prohibits nuclear testing for military or any other purpose.

Both the United States and Russia are signatories to the Partial Nuclear Test Ban Treaty, which prohibits nuclear detonations in the atmosphere, underwater and in outer space.

Only underground testing is permitted. The treaty was signed by the then USSR, USA and United Kingdom, as well as 123 other countries, but not by China, France or North Korea, and came into force in 1963.

Source: https://observador.pt/2023/11/03/japao-condena-saida-da-russia-do-tratado-que-proibe-ensaios-nucleares/

Leave a Reply